Have You Been Hit by An Uninsured Driver?

Have You Been Hit by An Uninsured Driver?If you have been hit by an uninsured driver, you are not alone. In fact, recent data reflects that Florida has more uninsured drivers than any other state in the nation. Over 20% of Florida drivers do not carry insurance, which means that if you are involved in a car accident, there is a 1 in 5 chance that the other driver does not have insurance to cover your physical injuries and vehicle damage. So what do you do in a situation like this? It is easy to feel overwhelmed and like you have no options. However, you do have legal options available to you, and thanks to Florida’s mandatory PIP coverage, your own insurance will cover a portion of the damage. While the best thing to do in this situation is to contact an attorney so that they can review the circumstances of your specific case, we will dig more into the nitty gritty below.

Options if You are Hit by an Uninsured Driver

You have a number of options available to you if you are hit by an uninsured driver, provided, of course, that you get their name and contact information. Because their identity is so important, it is a good idea to call the police in accidents where one driver is uninsured so that you can make sure that you are getting accurate information from the other driver. Your PIP coverage will cover up to $10,000 of damages sustained in the accident, however, if you have been seriously injured, it is unlikely that this amount will even make a dent in your medical expenses. If your injuries and damages total more than $10,000, the best course of action is to bring a personal injury lawsuit against the uninsured driver.

If you have been injured due to an accident that was not your fault, you do not have to shoulder the burden alone. Whether it was the result of a trucking accident or an aggravated assault, the experienced Central Florida Personal Injury Attorneys at HAWM Law are ready to help you fight to get you the compensation to which you are legally entitled. It is important not to waste any time, as Florida has statutes of limitations on how long you have to bring a personal injury claim.

Suing an Uninsured Driver

In order to bring a personal injury lawsuit against an uninsured driver, you must be able to demonstrate that they were negligent in causing the accident. Your lawyer can help you to do this. If the other driver was violating the law in any way, such as by speeding or driving under the influence, they will be automatically found negligent which really makes for an expeditious claim.

They will also be found negligent if their actions contributed to causing the accident, or, in other words, if a lack of reasonable care on their part resulted in the accident and your injuries. In addition to showing that the other driver was negligent, you must also demonstrate that you suffered both physical and financial damages. This can generally be accomplished by providing medical documentation and bills. This is also why it is important to seek medical care after an accident, even if you are not sure at the time whether you are injured.

Contact HAWM Law to Schedule a Consultation

If you have been injured due to an accident with an uninsured driver in Florida, you need an experienced personal injury on your side. The personal injury attorneys at HAWM Law are ready to fight to make sure that you get the maximum amount of compensation to which you are entitled. Contact HAWM Law today to schedule your personalized consultation.

Translate »