How To Apply For And Obtain A Florida Concealed Carry Permit

Obtain A Florida Concealed Carry PermitApproximately 15% of the adult population in Florida have a concealed carry permit, which amounts to around 2.5 million people. It is illegal to openly carry a weapon in the state if you do not have a license. Therefore, it is important to learn about how to legally obtain a concealed carry permit and maintain your permit to avoid any criminal issues. Our firm can help you in this process.

Requirements and Restrictions

There are specific minimum eligibility requirements to apply for a concealed carry license, including:

  • You must be 21 years of age unless you are a service member or you are a veteran.
  • You must meet the citizenship and residency requirements.
  • You must submit the certificate of completion from a firearms training class or other acceptable training document demonstrating your competency with a firearm. The training course teaches handgun basics, shooting fundamentals, how to be aware of your surroundings, legal education, and a guide to help you conceal your weapons effectively. The training course must be conducted by a state-certified or National Rifle Association-certified firearms instructor.

There are also certain restrictions that can prevent you from being able to receive a concealed carry permit. These include:

  • You must not have a disqualifying criminal record. This includes specific convictions such as drug crimes or crimes involving violence.
  • You must not suffer from a physical disability that would prevent the safe handling of a firearm.
  • You must not have been committed to a mental institution.
  • You must not abuse alcohol or have two or more DUI convictions in the last three years.

If you are facing criminal charges in central Florida, do not waste any time. Contact HAWM Law and find out how our lawyers can help protect your freedom.

Application Process

A first-time carry license costs $70, and a renewal license costs around $60. You will apply through the Department of Agriculture for a concealed carry license, this will be valid for seven years throughout the state. You can apply in person at the Florida Department of Agriculture and Consumer Services regional office or an authorized Florida tax collector’s office in your area. You need to bring the following items with you when applying in person:

  • A driver’s license or state-issued identification card,
  • A copy of a training document or other certificate that shows you have had the proper training, and
  • Payment

You can also apply by mail, you will just have to complete your fingerprints at your local sheriff’s office or police department for your application. Either way, the state has 90 days to approve or deny your application. During those 90 days, the Department will consider your application, including conducting a background check to determine whether you are eligible for the permit.

Once you have received your license, you must carry that license along with valid identification at all times when you have the concealed weapon in your possession. A violation of this law will result in a noncriminal violation and a penalty of $25.

Schedule a Consultation Today

Reach out to schedule an in-office, phone, or zoom consultation with HAWM Law Firm today to receive quality legal representation. Our criminal defense lawyers have extensive trial experience in Florida and have received national recognition for our advocacy skills. Call us at 407-802-3223 or schedule a consultation.

Translate »